PAK vs NZ: New Zealand beat Pakistan in second game to level ODI series

KARACHI – New Zealand on Wednesday stunned Pakistan by 79 runs in the second game as the Black Caps leveled the series 1-1.

New Zealand earlier set a target of 262 for Pakistan in the second game of the three-match ODI series at the National Stadium Karachi today. The away team’s bowlers produced a game to skittle Pakistan out for just 182 to seal a convincing win in the second game of the three-match series.

Meanwhile, Pakistan’s batting line-up crumbled and could only manage 182 runs despite Babar Azam’s heroics.

In today’s game, Conway remained in the limelight after smashing a century, while Kane Williamson made 85 runs, helping the Kiwis into a commanding position.

The Pakistani bowlers put in a stunning performance and restricted the Kiwis from building a mammoth target. Mohammad Nawaz took four wickets while Naseem Shah removed three bowlers from New Zealand. Usama Mir and Haris Rauf grabbed a wicket each.

Both sides will now lock horns in the third and final ODI on Friday.

Earlier, Pakistan come into today’s game having clinched the home series and gained momentum after the barren Test series.

The hosts lead the series 1-0 after their first ODI win, beating the visitors by six wickets in the opening game earlier this week.

In the previous game, young gun Naseem Shah outclassed the Kiwis with a five-wicket haul as Team Green cruised to a convincing win on Monday. Shah took 5-57 as New Zealand were forced to bat first and were restricted to 255-9.

Off-spinner Rizwan remained the top scorer with an unbeaten 77 off 86 balls to reduce his side to 258-4 in 48.1 overs. Skipper Babar Azam made 66 off 82 and continued the momentum with his 19th ODI half-century.

Opener Fakhar Zaman played 56 in his comeback match from a knee injury, while the away side’s top order failed to put up an A game against Pakistan bowlers.


Pakistan: Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Babar Azam (capt), Shan Masood/Mohammad Nawaz, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Salman Ali Agha, Usama Mir, Mohammad Wasim, Haris Rauf, Naseem Shah.

New Zealand: Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson (capt), Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (wk), Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Henry Shipley



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here